CSA Scholars’ Roundtable Honor

The CSA Scholars’ Roundtable recognizes those who exemplify high standards in costume scholarship and charges them with leading a National Symposium event that stimulates consideration and discussion of an issue pertaining to costume scholarship.

The Scholars’ Roundtable was formed in 1997 to enhance costume scholarship, taking it in innovative and interdisciplinary directions through a program at the CSA National Symposium. Presented in various formats throughout the years, under the current format a complex or potentially contentious topic relating to the field of costume studies is chosen for discussion each year. Three to four scholars, selected for their varied insights, experiences, and viewpoints regarding that topic, each briefly explore aspects of the subject and then encourage attendees to join the discussion.

Scholars’ Roundtable 2018

Engaging Labor, Acknowledging Maker 

From sweatshops to ateliers, costume shops to university apparel studios, fiber farms to science labs, museums to costume/wardrobe departments and all points in between—human labor is a common denominator across all realms within our field. In conjunction with this year’s conference theme, “Making Connections: Manufacturing Knowledge Through Dress Studies,” the 2018 Scholar’s Roundtable will examine questions, concerns, critiques, and productive possibilities regarding the role of human labor in the manufacture of dress, costume, fashion, identity, and history.  To what degree is labor made (in)visible? How is labor exploited and/or celebrated? Are we adequately addressing the ethical complexities of labor in our teaching and research? How might labor become a powerful epistemological tool in the classroom? What methods do we use to uncover histories of labor and experiences of garment workers?  How is labor acknowledged? In the wake of Rana Plaza–which came more than a century after the Triangle Shirtwaist Factory Fire–we are left to wonder: have we regressed?  We invite nominations of scholars from across all aspects of our field—whether researchers, makers, teachers, designers, collectors, curators, or historians, among others–whose work engages some aspect of labor. We challenge the 2018 Scholar’s Roundtable to create a more meaningful and productive conversation around labor and our relation to it.

Nominees should be those who:

  • are members of the Costume Society of America
  • have particular experience in or insight into an aspect of the selected scholarly issue
  • are interested in considering and debating the issue from many angles
  • have done or who are doing innovative work in the field of costume
  • are willing to work collaboratively and help to lead a dynamic discussion

Nominees will be evaluated on:

  • particular insight into, knowledge of, or experience with the issue to be discussed
  • complementary contribution to those of other scholars to ensure a multi-faceted discussion
  • high standards of innovative scholarship
  • demonstrated critical thinking about scholarly ideas and approaches
  • potential to work collaboratively to create a stimulating presentation
  • ability to help lead a dynamic discussion
The Scholars’ Roundtable Committee selects the topic for the next National Symposium and solicits nominations for scholars to discuss that issue. Nominations for 2018 are due by October 16, 2017, and each nominee submits an abstract and supporting paragraph by November 17, 2017. Nominees will be notified of the outcome of the selection process by January 12, 2018. Selected roundtable scholars then work together with the Scholars’ Roundtable Chair and Committee to coordinate brief presentations from each panelist and ensure a stimulating discussion.
  • Self nominations are accepted. If nominating another, please obtain the potential nominee’s consent if possible. Submit the nominee’s name and contact information to the Committee Chair. The committee contacts nominees, who by November 17, 2017 submit a 200-word abstract of their five-minute presentation along with a paragraph explaining how their experience and/or scholarship has prepared them to take a leadership role on the panel.
  • Denise Nicole Green

    Cornell Costume & Textile Collection
    Department of Fiber Science and Apparel Design
    College of Human Ecology
    Cornell University
    T37 Human Ecology Building
    Ithaca, NY 14853

This year's application deadline has passed

Next year's applications will be due in October of 2018.

Past Recipients

2017, Technology: Friend and Foe?
Denise Nicole Green
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY

Virginia Heaven
Columbia College
Chicago, IL

Abby Lillethun
Montclair State University
Montclair, NJ

Ingrid Mida
Ryerson University
Toronto, Ontario, Canada

2016, Everyone Their Own Curator: Professionalism and Authority in the Digital Age
Jo Paoletti
Chair, Scholars Roundtable Committee

Virginia Heaven
Columbia College
Chicago, IL

Sara Hume
Kent State University Museum
Kent, OH

Deborah Kraak
Independent Museum Professional
Wilmington, DE

Ingrid Mida
Ryerson University
Toronto, Ontario, Canada

2015, Credit Where Credit is Due
Jean Parsons
Associate Professor, Department of Textile and Apparel Management, University of Missouri
Columbia, MI

Sara Marcketti
Associate Professor, Department of Apparel, Events, and Hospitality Management; Associate Director, Center for Excellence in Learning and Teaching, Iowa State University
Ames, IA

2014, Beyond Material Culture: Sources for Scholarship
Dr. Kimberly Chrisman Campbell
Dr. Jo Barraclough Paoletti
Petra Slinkard

Sara Marcketti
Christina Johnson
Dr. Ann B. Wass

2012, Mind the Gap!
Dr. Elizabeth J.W. Barber
Cynthia Cooper
Mark D. Hutter

2011, Innovations in Fashion and Dress Scholarship 
Anne Bissonnette
Marilyn DeLong
Howard Kurtz

2009 – 2010:
Hiatus of Scholars’ Roundtable

Tina Bates
Joseph Hancock
Gayle Strege

Catherine Amoroso Leslie
Jean Parsons
Dennita Sewell

Hiatus of Scholars’ Roundtable

Sandra Buckland
Jacqueline Field
Elaine Pedersen

Hiatus of Scholars’ Roundtable Honor

Hiatus of Scholars’ Roundtable Honor

Nancy Bryant
Edward Maeder
Charlotte Jirousek
Laurel Wilson

Joanne Eicher
JoAnn Stabb
Sally Helvenston
Margaret Spicer
Naomi Tarrant

Patricia Anawalt
Beverly Chico

Patricia A. Cunningham
Jane Farrell-Beck
Valerie Steele

Linda Baumgarten
Claudia Brush Kidwell
Elizabeth J. W. Barber
Joy Emery

Jean Druesedow
Jo B. Paoletti
Phyllis Tortora
Patricia Campbell Warner
Linda Welters