Adele Filene

Student Presenter Grant

Adele Filene Student Presenter Grants provide financial assistance to students who have been selected to present oral research papers or research exhibits at the CSA National Symposium. The Costume Society of America greatly values the contributions of student members and wishes to foster their development. These grants of up to $500 and a day-of-presentation registration fee, funded by the CSA Endowment, are intended to encourage student participation in both the symposium and CSA.

The grants, first awarded in 1996, are named in honor of Adele Filene (1909-2010), designer of couture, sportswear, and handbags as well as a teacher and costume restoration specialist. A founding member and Fellow of the Costume Society of America, she also served as its treasurer and organized many CSA international study tours.

Applicants will be evaluated on:

  • being a full-time undergraduate or graduate university student
  • being a current member of the Costume Society of America
  • having received notice that their proposal for an oral research paper or research exhibit has been accepted for that year’s National Symposium
  • residing outside a 200 mile radius of that symposium site
  • recipients will be expected to attend the symposium, present their research, and receive their check at the awards ceremony

Application should include the following:

  • significance of the research to be presented
  • quality of student’s scholarship and future professional promise
  • applicant’s interest in the broad field of costume
  • evidence of applicant’s interest in continuing involvement with CSA
  • applicant’s name, email, mailing address, name of college or university, major, and date of graduation
  • a 1000-1500 word essay on your involvement with dress and fashion; your career goals; and what you hope to gain from attending the CSA National Symposium
  • a letter of recommendation from an academic advisor or professor, which may be sent separately or emailed (original signature not required)
Completed applications must be emailed or postmarked by December 4, 2017. Applicants will be notified of results by January 8, 2018. Checks will be distributed to recipients at the CSA National Symposium.

Application Procedure

  • Send application by email to the Committee Chair.
  • Michelle Finamore

    Committee Chair

This year's application deadline has passed

Don't forget to enter in your text.

Past Recipients

Lynda Xepoleas
Arizona State University

Doris Domoszlai­ Lantner
Fashion Institute of Technology

Jennifer Farley Gordon
Iowa State University

Joanna Abijouade
New York University

Kelly L. Reddy-Best
University of Rhode Island

Seoha Min
University of Minnesota
Michaela Hansen
School of the Art Institute of Chicago

Dina Cherise Smith
University of Georgia

Carmen Keist
Iowa State University
Katherine Lapelosa
Fashion Institute of Technology
Ashley Ratute
Iowa State University
Monica Sklar
University of Minnesota
Katy Werlin
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Mario J. Roman
Cornell University

Denise Nicole Green
University of California
Kelly Mohs Gage
University of Minnesota

Jessica Cowden
Brigham Young University
Elizabeth Davis
Cornell University

Joycelyn Falsken
The Ohio State University
Katalin Medvedev
University of Minnesota

Meriem Chida
University of Minnesota
Juyeon Park
University of Minnesota
Melody A. Pena
University of Georgia
Naomi Spinak
San Diego State University

Jennifer Lynn Banning
Louisiana State University
Sara Beth Brubacher
Iowa State University
Deirdre Clemente
Fashion Institute of Technology
Elyssa Schram Da Cruz
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Julia Pine
Carleton University
Reneé Walker
University of Rhode Island

Deborah Saville
University of Rhode Island
Pamela Soohoo
Fashion Institute of Technology
Susan Strawn
Iowa State University

Melissa Woodson Jurgena
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Catherine Amoroso Leslie
The Ohio State University
Michelle Tolini
The Board Graduate Center

Debbie Zamora
Montclair State University

Kimberly Chrisman
University of Aberdeen
Persephone Hintlain
Louisana State University
Mary Q. Johnson
Wichita State University

Colleen Gau
Iowa State University
Stephanie Day Iverson
Bard Graduate Center
Catherine Amoroso Leslie
The Ohio State University
Eileen Stack
University of Rhode Island

No Award

Marlene Miller
Buffalo State College
Robert Schorman
Indiana University
Sophie K. White
Courtauld Institute of Art

Abby Lillethun
The Ohio State University
Vicki Skorich
University of Minnesota