Grants, Awards & Honors


Adele Filene Student Presenter Grant

College and University Collection Care Grant

CSA Travel Research Grant

Stella Blum Student Research Grant

Small Museum Collection Care Grant

Angels Project

Awards &

Award of Excellence in Costume Design/Technology

CSA Fellow Award

Millia Davenport Publication Award

Richard Martin Exhibition Award

Scholars' Roundtable Honor


CSA Scholars' Roundtable Honor

Roundtable Theme:
Everyone Their Own Curator: Professionalism and Authority in the Digital Age

Carl Becker, in his 1931 address to the American Historical Association, transformed the study of history by comparing the mundane tasks of remembering and recording used by “Mr. Everyman” and the work of professional historians. The difference, Becker insisted, was that Mr. Everyman was being his own historian, but professionals were charged with writing “everyone’s history” and held to a higher standard of authority.

The 2016 Scholar’s Roundtable will consider the role of the dress scholar in an age when technology and culture have enabled everyone to be their own curator. Once an arcane term familiar mainly to museum professionals, “curation” has become the new buzzword for gathering, organizing and presenting everything from online content to one’s seasonal wardrobe. This emergence of ubiquitous curation has resulted in the phenomenon of museums mounting exhibits curated by non-museum professionals. At the Design Exchange in Toronto, the exhibition, Politics of Fashion/Fashion of Politics was curated by “international fashion icon,” journalist Jeanne Beker. Another variation is the self-curated fashion designer, such as the Jean-Pierre Gaultier exhibition.

What does curation mean when everyone is a potential curator? Is “good curating” or “bad curating” a matter of academic credentials or professional titles or lack of them? Is "curating" information in the form of a book or website or "curating" an archive the same as curating a collection or exhibition of objects? Where does publication fit in, especially in a digital environment which makes everyone their own publisher? Nominees should consider the potential opportunities and challenges for this new world of ubiquitous curation, and describe how their own professional experience has informed their views.


The CSA Scholars’ Roundtable recognizes those who exemplify high standards in costume scholarship and charges them with leading a National Symposium event that stimulates consideration and discussion of an issue pertaining to costume scholarship.


The Scholars' Roundtable was formed in 1997 to enhance costume scholarship, taking it in innovative and interdisciplinary directions though a program at the CSA National Symposium. Presented in various formats over the years, under the current format a complex or potentially contentious topic relating to the field of costume studies is chosen for discussion each year. Three to four scholars, selected for their varied insights, experiences, and viewpoints regarding that topic, each briefly explore aspects of the subject and then encourage attendees to join the discussion.


Nominees should be those who:

  • are members of the Costume Society of America
  • have particular experience in or insight into an aspect of the selected scholarly issue
  • are interested in considering and debating the issue from many angles
  • have done or who are doing innovative work in the field of costume
  • are willing to work collaboratively and help to lead a dynamic discussion
  • Nomination Deadline

    Nominations for the 2015 Scholars’ Roundtable are due by January 15, 2016.

    Nomination Procedure

    Self nominations are accepted. If nominating another, please obtain the potential nominee's consent if possible. Submit the nominee's name and contact information to:

    Jo Paoletti, Scholars' Roundtable Committee Chair

    The committee contacts nominees, who by February 15 submit a 200-word abstract of their five-minute presentation along with a paragraph explaining how their experience and/or scholarship has prepared them to take a leadership role on the panel.

    Selection Criteria

    Nominees will be evaluated on:

  • particular insight into, knowledge of, or experience with the issue to be discussed
  • complementary contribution to those of other scholars to ensure a multi-faceted discussion
  • high standards of innovative scholarship
  • demonstrated critical thinking about scholarly ideas and approaches
  • potential to work collaboratively to create a stimulating presentation
  • ability to help lead a dynamic discussion
  • Scholars' Roundtable Schedule

    The Scholars’ Roundtable Committee selects the topic for the next National Symposium and solicits nominations for scholars to discuss that issue. Nominations for 2016 are due by January 15, and each nominee submits an abstract and supporting paragraph by February 15. Nominees will be notified of the outcome of the selection process by March 15. Selected roundtable scholars then work together with the Scholars’ Roundtable Chair and Committee to coordinate briefs presentations from each panelist and ensure a stimulating discussion.

    Questions? Contact Jo Paoletti, Scholars' Roundtable Committee Chair, at


    CSA Scholars' Roundtable Honor Recipients

    Click on year to view CSA Scholars' Roundtable presentation summary.

    Dr. Kimberly Chrisman Campbell
    Independent Scholar
    Glendale, CA

    Dr. Jo Barraclough Paoletti
    Associate Professor, American Studies, Unversity of Maryland
    Baltimore, Maryland

    Petra Slinkard
    Curator of Costumes, Chicago History Museum
    Chicago, Illinois

    Sara Marcketti
    Associate Professor, Apparel, Events, and Hospitality Management,Iowa State University
    Ames, Iowa

    Christina Johnson
    Associate Curator, FIDM Museum & Galleries
    Los Angeles, California

    Dr. Ann B. Wass
    History/Museum Specialist, Riversdale House Museum
    Riverdale Park, Maryland

    Dr. Elizabeth J.W. Barber
    Professor Emerita of Linguistics and Archaeology, Occidental College
    Los Angeles, California

    Cynthia Cooper
    Head, Collections and Research/Curator, Costume and Textiles,
    McCord Museum
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada

    Mark D. Hutter
    Senior Journeyman Tailor, Historic Trades, Colonial Williamsburg Foundation
    Williamsburg, Virginia

    Anne Bissonnette
    Marilyn DeLong
    Howard Kurtz

    2009 - 2010:
    Hiatus of Scholars' Roundtable

    Tina Bates
    Joseph Hancock
    Gayle Strege

    Catherine Amoroso Leslie
    Jean Parsons
    Dennita Sewell

    Hiatus of Scholars' Roundtable

    Sandra Buckland
    Jacqueline Field
    Elaine Pedersen

    Hiatus of Scholars' Roundtable Honor

    Hiatus of Scholars' Roundtable Honor

    Nancy Bryant
    Edward Maeder
    Charlotte Jirousek
    Laurel Wilson

    Joanne Eicher
    JoAnn Stabb
    Sally Helvenston
    Margaret Spicer
    Naomi Tarrant

    Patricia Anawalt
    Beverly Chico

    Patricia A. Cunningham
    Jane Farrell-Beck
    Valerie Steele

    Linda Baumgarten
    Claudia Brush Kidwell
    Elizabeth J. W. Barber
    Joy Emery

    Jean Druesedow
    Jo B. Paoletti
    Phyllis Tortora
    Patricia Campbell Warner
    Linda Welters


    For application materials, specific eligibility requirements, or more detailed information, please contact the National Office. Include the name of the grant in your request.